United States

United States Map Texas New Mexico Louisiana Mississippi Alabama Florida Hawaii Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Arizona California Nevada Utah Colorado Alaska Oregon Idaho Washington Montana Wyoming North Dakota South Dakota Nebraska Kansas Oklahoma Arkansas Missouri Iowa Minnesota Wisconsin Michigan Illinois Indiana Tennessee Kentucky Ohio Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania New York Maine Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Delaware Maryland District of Columbia

About the United States

The United States of America is a federal republic of 50 states and a capital district, mostly in central North America. The U.S. has three land borders, two with Canada and one with Mexico, and is otherwise bounded by the Pacific Ocean, the Bering Sea, the Arctic Ocean and the Atlantic Ocean. Of the 50 states, only Alaska and Hawaii are not contiguous with any other state. The U.S. also has a collection of districts, territories, and possessions around the world. Each state has a high level of local autonomy according to the system of federalism. The United States traces its national origin to the declaration by 13 British colonies in 1776 that they were free and independent states. They were recognized as such by the Treaty of Paris in 1783. Since then, the nation has grown to become a global superpower and exerts a high level of economic, political, military, and cultural influence.